Winners for the 10th Annual 

Off Broadway Alliance AwardsAnnounced

New York: On Tuesday, May 19, presenters Charles Bush and Julie Halston, along with OBA President Peter Breger, announced the 10th Annual Off Broadway Alliance. The Off Broadway Alliance plans on celebrating this year’s winners with a reception this Fall. 

To see a replay of the live awards announcement please click this link

This year’s 2019-20 Off Broadway Alliance Award Winners, shown in bold print below, are: 

Best New Play

        1. Ain't No Mo' 
        2. By Jordan E. Cooper
        3. Produced by The Public Theater

Halfway Bitches Go Straight to Heaven 

By Stephen Adly Guirgus

Co-production of Atlantic Theater Company and LAByrinth Theater Company


Life Sucks-  WINNER

By Aaron Posner

Produced by Wheelhouse Theater


Make Believe

By Bess Wohl

Produced by Second Stage Theater


The Confession of Lily Dare 

By Charles Busch

Produced by Primary Stages in Association with Jamie deRoy and Ted Snowden 


Best Play Revival

For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide / When the Rainbow is Enuf

By Ntozake Shange

Produced by The Public Theater


Much Ado About Nothing

By William Shakespeare

Produced by The Public Theater


The Woman in Black  -  WINNER

Adapted by Stephen Mallatratt

From the novel by Susan Hill

Presented by the McKittrick Hotel


Timon of Athens

By William Shakespeare

Produced by Theatre for a New Audience and Shakespeare Theater Company


Best New Musical

A Strange Loop -  WINNER

Book, Music & Lyrics by Michael R. Jackson

Produced by Playwrights Horizons and Page 73


Cambodian Rock Band

By Lauren Yee

Songs by Dengue Fever

Produced by Signature Theatre Company



Book, Music, and Lyrics by Keith Harrison and Laura Schein

Produced by Arborhouse Productions and Visceral Entertainment


Romeo & Bernadette: A Musical Tale of Verona and Brooklyn

Book & Lyrics by Mark Saltzman

Produced by Amas Musical Theatre and Eric Krebs


Sing Street

Book by Enda Walsh, Music & Lyrics by John Carney and Gary Clark

Produced by New York Theatre Workshop


The Secret Life of Bees

Book by Lynn Nottage

Music by Duncan Sheik 

Lyrics by Susan Birkenhead

Produced by the Atlantic Theater Company


Best Musical Revival


Book by Sybille Pearson, Music by David Shire, Lyrics by Richard Maltby Jr.

Produced by Out of the Box Theatrics


Enter Laughing

Book by Joseph Stein, Music & Lyrics by Stan Daniels

Produced by The York Theater Company


Little Shop of Horrors

Book & Lyrics by Howard Ashman, Music by Alan Menken 

Produced by Robert Ahrens, Hunter Arnold, Mickey Liddell, Curt Cronin, John Joseph, and Tom Kirdahy


Rock of Ages

Book by Chris D'Arienzo

Produced by S2BN Entertainment


The Unsinkable Molly Brown -  WINNER

Music and lyrics by Meredith Willson; Book and new lyrics by Dick Scanlan, based on the original book by Richard Morris; Music adaptation by Michael Rafter

Produced by Transport Group

Best Unique Theatrical Experience

Dana H. -  WINNER

By Lucas Hnath

Produced by Vineyard Theatre, Goodman Theatre, and Center Theatre Group


Midsummer: A Banquet

    By William Shakespeare. Adapted by Zach Morris and Victoria Rae Sook    

    Produced by Food of Love Productions and Third Rail Projects  


Novenas for a Lost Hospital

By Cusi Cram 

Produced by Rattlestick Playwrights Theater


Katsura Sunshine’s Rakugo

Created and Performed by Katsura Sunshine

Produced by Joe Trentacosta, Yoshitaka Tanaka, Yumi Shinozaki, and Marie Fukuda  

Best Solo Performance

Kathleen Chalfant in A Woman of the World

By Rebecca Gilman

Produced by The Acting Company and 59E59 Theaters 


Keith Hamilton Cobb in American Moor

By Keith Hamilton Cobb

Produced by Evangeline Morphos, Frederick M. Zollo, Red Bull Theater, Elizabeth I. McCann, and Tom Shea


Harvey Fierstein in Bella Bella

By Harvey Fierstein

Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club


Ken Jennings in Gospel of John

Conceived by Ken Jennings

Produced by The Sheen Center for Thought and Culture


Bill Posley in The Day I Became Black -  WINNER

Created and written by Bill Posley 

Produced by Kristen Boulé 


Aedín Moloney in Yes! Reflections of Molly Bloom 

Adaptation by Aedín Moloney and Colum McCann

Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre


Best Family Show 

Dog Man:  The Musical 

Music by Brad Alexander 

Books and Lyrics by Kevin DelAguila   

Based on the series by Dav Pilkey 

Produced by TheatreWorks USA

Paddington Gets in a Jam 

Created by Jonathan Rockefeller  

Written by Doug Kmiotek

Based on the series by Michael Bond

Produced by Rockefeller Productions

She Persisted, The Musical  -  WINNER

Script & Lyrics by Adam Tobin 

Music by Deborah Wicks La Puma 

Adapted from the Book by Chelsea Clinton 

Produced by Atlantic Theater Company  


Taste the Clouds 

Created by Hit the Lights! Theater Co. 

Based on the book "Taste the Clouds" by Rita Marshall 

Produced by New York Children’s Theatre  


The Big One-Oh! 

Music by Doug Besterman 

Lyrics by Dean Pitchford  

Book by Timothy Allen McDonald 

Based on the Novel by Dean Pitchford 

Produced by Atlantic Theater Company 

Special Honorees: 


Legends of Off Broadway - honoring sustained achievement Off Broadway  


Gretchen Cryer: Off-Broadway Playwright, lyricist and actress, co-author of I'm Getting My Act Together and Taking It on the Road  

Woodie King, Jr.: Founding director of the New Federal Theatre in New York City and Off Broadway producer and director

Eric Krebs: Off Broadway producer and founder and director of Off-Broadway’s John Houseman Theater Center and Douglas Fairbanks Theater.

Barbara Zinn Krieger: Founder of New York City Children's Theater and Executive Director and Founder of Vineyard Theatre.

Off Broadway Hall of Fame Inductees - A posthumous award that honors a lifetime of extraordinary contributions to Off Broadway

Mark Blum, an actor whose Off Broadway career spanned over five decades and 26 productions, including The Waverly Gallery, The Model Apartment, and Rancho Viejo.  

Wynn Handman - Off Broadway director and teacher, co-founder and Artistic Director of The American Place Theatre.

Julia Miles - Trailblazing founder of the Women’s Project Theater (now known as the WP Theater). 


Friend of Off Broadway - Award honoring persons or organizations for their steadfast support of the Off Broadway community over many years. 

The Drama Bookshop has been serving the New York theater community by supporting and inspiring generations of theater artists for over 100 years. 


The Off Broadway Alliance is a non-profit corporation organized by theater professionals dedicated to supporting, promoting and encouraging the production of Off Broadway theater and to making live theater increasingly accessible to new and diverse audiences. The Alliance holds monthly meetings (currently via Zoom), and membership is open to everyone in the Off Broadway theater community.  The organization includes Off Broadway producers, theaters, general managers, press agents, and marketing professionals, and the OBA Awards honor commercial and not-for-profit productions that opened Off Broadway during the 2019-2020 season (due to the theatrical shutdown, the last eligible date for consideration was March 11, 2020).  

Among its initiatives, The Off-Broadway Alliance sponsors 20at20, the event that runs twice a year for 20 days and lets theatergoers purchase $20 tickets to dozens of Off Broadway shows 20 minutes before curtain. It also produces a free Seminar Series focusing on the culture, business, and history of Off Broadway featuring major players from the Off Broadway scene. The Alliance operates the OBA Mentorship Program, which provides new producers with guidance and direction from Off Broadway veterans. And the Alliance created the Off Broadway Economic Impact Report, which outlines Off Broadway's over $500 million annual impact on the economy of the City of New York.

For more information, visit